Long Distance Love

People tend to think long-distance relationships are one of the hardest possible ways of loving someone. I am deeply in love with my boyfriend who pursues his career in Cebu City and I live in Tacloban City. The distance between Cebu City and Tacloban City is 158.8 km.

Processed with VSCO with h1 preset

I met my love about 7 months ago. He express himself about how special I am to him and how I was the love of his life. We missed each other dearly; but there was a certain peace with the reality. I could feel him being on the other side, thinking of me and being in love with me. This was all I could ask for.

I don’t deny we live on two different continents, and can’t have breakfasts in bed or spontaneous weekend trips. But I always wished for a wonderful man with a beautiful character who loves me for who I am. Now I got my wish and felt very happy with it.

There are lesson along the way and this may help even if you’re not in a long distance relationship.

1.Communicate

It’s important that you speak, listen, write, fight and laugh with your love one about everything that’s meaningful to you. Remember to respect the other person’s schedule and space. Also, I feel much better after sharing my struggles with my boyfriend; it’s a way of being honest and authentic. Make yourself a team in this. If you take on challenges together, it’s easier to handle the physical distance, and you get closer and surely learn about each other.

2. Become clear about who you are and what you want

Keep learning from each other, and don’t be afraid of discovering the flaws or challenges the other one may have. Always keep curious and asks lots of questions. Be willing to open up just as much. Also, talk about where you want to head together and how you want to live. It’s important to create vision together to know you’re on the same page. As long the respect and love is there, you will always find a way to deal mindfully with conflict and disagreement.

3. Challenge your doubts

Distance doesn’t kill love; doubts do. Therefore I give my best in choosing love over doubt. We can only do our best today in loving each other, and work toward a life together with patience and faith.

4. Spend quality time together

Even if you see your loved one often, you still need to consciously choose to spend quality time together. You don’t need to talk everyday (but we really talk everyday haha) Just make sure the time with each other is well spent. There just a few ways to find strength and happiness in a committed long-distance relationship. So what’s your biggest love challenge, and how do you overcome it?

Processed with VSCO with h1 preset

 

Leave a Reply

